If you have issues with me discussing profanity, or issues with you reading about someone discussing profanity, I suggest an early exit might be recommended.

Alas, let us continue … !

I do not think the differences in use of profanity between Britons and Americans have escaped anyone’s attention.

In America, it is “f***ing this” and “f***ing that”, coupled with a few “s**t” and “d**n” and¹ … well, the list goes on.

In Britain, the equivalent words are a lot more … weird. I mean, what is with the B-word obsession? “Bl***y this” and “bl***y that”, followed by a few “b****cks” and such.

Now, I will fully admit that I do understand the nature and selection of both the American and British “emphasis words”. Not so much when it comes to French or Swedish profanity.

I mean, “holy blue”² was the best you could think of? Really? In Sweden it gets worse! “Seventeen!” “Iron nails!” “One thousand!”

“Whoa, whoa … you got me there! There is no way I can compete with your ‘one thousand’ after my measly ‘seventeen’ …”

Comments? No profanity, please! 😉

¹ … unless you are a member of a Christian church where it is not okay to use profanity, but apparently still okay to say “freakin’ this” and “freakin’ that” (or “flippin’ this” and “flippin’ that”), and “shucks” here and there … “heck”, “gosh”, “darn” … Hey, look. We all know what you mean, what you are really saying. Those replacement words are not hiding the intent as well as you seem to think they might.

² “Sacré bleu” comes from an old Marian oath and refers to Mary, the mother of Jesus.


“The foolish and wicked practice of profane cursing and swearing is a vice so mean and low that every person of sense and character detests and despises it.”
George Washington (1732–1799)

